Top 5 Tech Tools for Elementary Classrooms

If you’re like me you jumped on all the new technology and resources out there. Once someone told me about it I quickly went to sign up. I probably have signed up for over 25 wonderful websites! But did I stick with them? No. I was excited, which made my students excited, but as soon as I found something new, we switched gears. Now don’t get me wrong, all of the tools I used were fantastic, but there are SO many out there that I couldn’t keep up with them all. I would start one and two weeks later completely forget about it. Here are some of the most popular and beneficial websites for my elementary classroom.

My goal this year is to use 5 tech tools all year long. Here are some of the most popular and beneficial websites I will continue to use in my elementary classroom.

EdPuzzle – EdPuzzle helps your flipped classroom by allowing the teacher to take premade videos from Youtube, Khan Academy, etc and add questions and your voice along the way of the video to enable self-paced learning for your students. As a teacher you are able to track your student’s progress, whether they answered a question, and how many times they watched the video. The best part-it’s completely FREE!

Kahoot – Kahoot is a free game-based learning platform that makes it fun to learn – any subject, in any language, on any device, for all ages! I love using this for my pre or post tests, reviewing, or reinforcing a lesson. I can use quizzes that are already made by teachers like me, or create my own. Students can use any device and Kahoot just offered a team mode for classrooms that do not have 1:1 technology. And guess what, it’s FREE!

Quizizz – Quizizz is very similar to Kahoot, but offers a more individual approach. Quizizz allows you to create multi-player games that can be played individually as a class (at the same time) or as an assignment (separately). Many times I chose to give a Quizizz as homework for my student’s to reinforce a lesson or review for standardized testing. Quizizz also allows me to collect data. And you guessed it-completely FREE!

Seesaw – The new thing on the market for all my colleagues is Seesaw. And I LOVE it! Seesaw gives students of any age an ability to independently document what they are learning at school.Students capture learning with photos and videos of their work, or by adding digital creations. Everything gets organized in one place and is accessible to teachers from any device.Student work can be shared with classmates, parents, or published to a class blog. Great things: Everything is private and can be shown to only student and parent, as a teacher you must first approve ALL posts before they are posted, and it is an amazing tool for parent communication! Even as I learn more and more about it I can not help but fall in love with the fact that it is FREE!

Front Row – Front Row is an ELA and Math individualized program that helps students practice and review common core standards. In the free version students still get individualized comprehension, fluency, and targeted practice on multiple levels. Teachers are able to assign individualized practice homework papers and group students with similar learning levels using the upgraded version.

While I use many other amazing resources these are a few of my favorite! feel free to comment with YOUR favorite, I am always up for new tech. :]

One thought on “Top 5 Tech Tools for Elementary Classrooms

  1. I love Kahoot too! I’ve read about Seesaw, but I’m currently very loyal to Class Dojo. They are adding ePortfolios for student use soon. I just did a similar post on my blog too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

