Classroom Tech in Today

Any classroom teacher in today’s day and age knows that technology plays a huge part in the classroom. Digital technology has taken the world by storm in the past decade (Lynch, 2015). Students can now work collaboratively together on assignments without having to meet in the library, or even in the same room. I am able to share digital information with my professional learning network through social-bookmarking. I can reach my absent students and reteach my class by providing them with podcasts of me explaining the lesson. I can easily stay in constant contact with parents in ways that were unheard of when their parents were in school (Lynch, 2015). As a professional, I need to gear my students towards a positive 21st-century learning that will help them create a positive social change in the world. It is my job, as a lifelong learner, to improve my technology proficiency through collaboration, leadership, practice, and professional development opportunities (Technology Proficiencies, 2015). Through social bookmarking, wiki lessons, blogs, and twitter feeds I am developing my learning and understanding on ways that I can reach and teach my students in a world where they are constantly connected to devices and global communication.

I have deepened my knowledge of the teaching and learning process through the use of integrating technology into my classroom. When I design and develop digital assessments I am creating an authentic learning experience using contemporary tools and resources to maximize content learning in a way that my students are used to (ISTE, n.d.). I respect that technology needs to be integrated. We live in a day and age where people are constantly connected. With a smartphone I can check my email, bank accounts, social media, and even video chat someone; all at the tips of my fingers. We no longer have to wait to develop film when I take a picture and my watch no longer only tells the time, I have access to a calculator, email, text messages, and even make phone calls. We don’t live like we did even ten years ago. I get to inspire student learning by creating an environment that many of them are used to on a regular basis. I am also preparing them for a future where they will use technology on a daily basis (Thornburg, 2015j). As a professional, I will continue to develop and grow to improve my professional practice in this ever changing world (Professional Dispositions, 2016).

This school year I am implementing Seesaw, an interactive student journal, and parent communication tool. Seesaw is very similar to the Web 2.0 tool of a student or classroom blog but offers features that include video recording, picture upload, and podcasts. After watching many professional development videos on it, I feel that my second graders will be able to accomplish this. The one roadblock that I struggle with is the lack of technology in my classroom. I only have access to four classroom laptops, which I feel that I will struggle with. However, I plan to offer Seesaw as a math and reading center. This way a small number of students can access the laptops at a time. Seesaw will give my students the opportunity to use digital media to communicate, publish, and show their understanding of lessons through a global community (ISTE, n.d.). Through Seesaw, I am promoting and creating a digital citizenship environment by allowing them to use technology and stay in communication with families (ISTE, n.d.).

I have two SMART goals that I will be implementing this year to transform my classrooms and prepare my students for the workplace. The first goal is that my students will use the Seesaw program to develop one interactive video by the end of the first quarter to assess their learning in one lesson of their choosing. I will offer students time to use Seesaw and direction on what a good choice would be for assessment. My second goal is to incorporate three Quizizz games to assess student knowledge by the end of the second quarter. I will develop these games myself based on our curriculum. While these are small tasks, I feel they will be baby steps in the right direction for my class.

Resources

ISTE. (n.d.-a) Standards for students. Retrieved November 5, 2015, from http://www.iste.org/standards/iste-standards/standards-for-students.

ISTE. (n.d.-b). Standards for teachers. Retrieved November 5, 2015, from http://www.iste.org/standards/iste-standards/standards-for-teachers.

Laureate Education (Producer). (2015j). The changing work environment [Video file]. Baltimore, MD: Author.

Lynch, M. (2015, May 20). 4 ways digital tech has changed K-12 learning. Retrieved from http://thejournal.com/articles/2015/05/20/4-ways-digital-tech-has-changed-k12-learning.aspx.

RWRCOEL Professional Dispositions PDF File. 1st ed. Laureate Education, Inc, 2016. Print

Technology Proficiencies PDF File. 1st ed. Laureate Education, Inc, 2015. Print.

Leave a Reply

